Life Skills 101, because life can be tough…
Juvenile Investigators Eric Holland and Richard Humphrey came to Mrs. Major’s Leadership classes from the Foley Police Department on February 24th. Investigator Holland talked about the different ways students wind up in the Juvenile Court System.
1. Being delinquent, like breaking laws, shoplifting, etc.
2. Being a status offender, which means skipping school, not conforming to rules, but not breaking any laws.
3. Being a dependent/neglected child, which means you need help from the courts.
9 times out of 10, most juveniles within the court system are placed in a diversion system, like a boys home or a boot camp.
Investigator Holland talked about how the age of accountability, where you know the difference between right and wrong, is seven. Between the ages of seven and eleven, you can be charged with a crime. Age 18 and below, you are considered to be a juvenile, and you can be sent a juvenile detention center.
Investigator Holland reminded students that if you hurt a teacher, judge, or law officer, you can be tried as an adult.
9 times out of 10, if you are arrested as a juvenile, you will go to court. If you get arrested, the Juvenile Detention Center in Bay Minette can keep you for 72 hours before a hearing. Before you are incarcerated, you can be sent to boot camps,
Investigator Holland was the second of our guest speakers to remind us that the legal age of consent is 16. If you are dating someone more than 24 months older than you, you can be convicted of Statutory Rape in Alabama.
Investigator Richard Humphrey spoke on the topic of domestic violence, which unfortunately involves many teenagers, because domestic violence a family problem. Domestic violence usually involves
Many times the victim doesn’t want to have the person who hurt them put in jail, and they continue to live with them. In most cases, the offenders progress in their offenses, and it can eventually result in injuries and death. The law now says that the victim doesn’t have to bring charges – the officers will bring charges.
What you say matters. In the state of Alabama, you can be arrested for threatening to hurt someone.
Investigator Humphrey shared some unsettling statistics regarding domestic violence with students.
One in three high school students will be involved in an abusive relationship.
Fourty percent of teenage girls age 14 to 17 say they know someone their age who has been hit or beaten by a boyfriend.
Teen dating violence most often takes place in the home of one of the partners.
One in five college females will experience some form of dating violence.
Thirty-eight percent of date rape victims were ages 14 to 17.
Sixty-eight percent of female rape victims knew their rapist as a friend or boyfriend.
Investigator Humphrey said the biggest thing students needed to remember was…it’s not OK to be abusive.
There is a hot line you can call if you need help that is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 800-650 6522,
Leadership classes appreciate the Foley Police Department for their continued support in educating our Foley students. We are grateful for Investigators Holland and Humphrey, for their valuable time, and for sharing their insightful information.