Foley High School Leadership

Life Skills 101, because life can be tough…

Sierra Albright: Overcoming Childhood Adversity

My name is Sierra Albright. I’m 16-years-old and in Mrs. Major’s 4th block Leadership class.

Four months after I was born, my real father died. When I was 8 months old, my mom met my step dad. I got a younger sister a little while after that.  My step-dad beat me and my little sister. He also hurt my mom a lot too.

When I was ten-years-old, my mom died. I was devistated and felt lost. I couldn’t move on. My step-dad started drinking a lot more. He was more abusive and mean. Now we are going to counsiling and work everything out. We are not fighting as much and working out our problems. Unfortunately, we also don’t communticate as much because we don’t really know what to say to each other now.

My plans are to graduate high school and go on to college. I want to be a novelist and a physician.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2012 by in Leadership Students.
