Foley High School Leadership

Life Skills 101, because life can be tough…

Brittany Hall: Making a Change in the World, Oprah Style!

My name is Brittany Shawntae Hall. I’m 15. I’m in Mrs. Major’s 4th block Leadership class. I have 3 older brothers, 2 older sisters, 1 little sister, and 1 little brother. I have witnessed a lot of things in my life and went through quite a few things myself

I have witnessed domestic violence in my home when I was 6 between my mom and dad.  I hated those moments, because my brother and me had to watch our mom cry and feel her pain.

I have experienced bullying first hand. People usually pick on me about the things on the back of my ears because they’re abnormal. They are called keloids; it’s just a different form of a scar.  When I was 9 I got my ears pierced. I was playing a lot of sports at the time, so I couldn’t wear the earrings. The holes closed up and this “scar” formed. I also have one on my back. The words about this use to hurt, but it doesn’t really hurt anymore, because it makes me unique. Might not be the cutest thing, but its okay.

The main thing that I strive to do in my life is to create an organization for people who have keloid scars that give them the funds and education on keloids, to create a program for young teens that have experienced or witnessed domestic violence and have seminars to show them that they aren’t the only ones going through what they’re going through.  Most of all , I want to make a change in the world, just like Oprah.

Oh, and Leadership is Beast!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2012 by in Leadership Students.
